McLaren Caro Region (MCR) has been verified as a Level IV Trauma Center

McLaren Caro Region (MCR) has been verified as a Level IV Trauma Center by a special committee from the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS). This achievement confirms MCR’s commitment to providing the highest quality trauma care to the community.

To qualify for the designation, the hospital had to demonstrate that it had trained staff to evaluate, stabilize, and diagnose injured patients. It required updating policies to show commitment to caring for trauma patients. To successfully build a program that meets the states criteria requires full commitment and a shared goal to deliver the best trauma care.

Yvonne Vandecar, RN, BSN, Manager of Patient Care Services, stated that “when a trauma occurs, the extent of injuries often are not immediately apparent, so quick intervention is key. Our team is motivated to do what’s best for every patient, every time.”

Injuries and accidents happen every day whether it is a fall, an act of violence, an injury, or a devastating crash. Access to round-the-clock treatment by a team specifically trained in trauma care could mean the difference between life and death. Even if you are fortunate enough to avoid traumatic injuries, you will still benefit from the enhanced level of treatment available.

“The majority of trauma injuries seen at MCR are people who have fallen,” said Tammy Gugel, RN, BSN, and the hospital’s Trauma Coordinator. “Falls in geriatric patients can lead to other injuries that are less obvious. MCR is prepared for other types of traumas such as atv/car accidents, power tools, sporting injuries, etc.”

One part of being a trauma center is reporting the types of injuries to the state. Gugel stated that the state then uses those statistics to plan education programs and to help industries make changes to improve safety. For example, the auto industry examines the data before designing new car models. MCR also uses the data to determine what education programs to offer to Tuscola County residents and businesses.

Criteria to Qualify for a Level IV Trauma Centers Includes:

  • Basic Emergency Department facilities where Advanced Trauma Life Support can be implemented
  • 24-hour laboratory coverage is available
  • Available trauma nurses and physicians
  • Surgery and critical-care services
  • Transfer agreements in place for patients that require more comprehensive care at a Level I, II or III Trauma Center
  • Comprehensive quality assessment programs
  • An active community outreach program

Common tips for avoiding traumatic injuries include:

  • Buckling up each time you drive or ride in a motor vehicle
  • Never driving (or ride with a driver) after using drugs or alcohol
  • Wearing a helmet or other protective headgear when riding a bike, motorcycle, or other motorized vehicle
  • Wearing a helmet when playing contact sports or skiing
  • Reviewing your medications regularly with your doctor to determine if any could make you dizzy
  • Having your eyes checked annually and update your prescription when it changes
  • Doing exercises to improve strength and balance and help avoid falls