McLaren Health Care
Cancer Navigators

Cancer Care Navigators

When someone diagnosed with cancer comes to Karmanos Cancer Institute, they will receive exceptional care from our entire team. Our Patient Navigator Program features a dedicated person who works to guide patients through the health care system, ensuring they receive seamless, coordinated care, along with any other necessary support services. The patient navigator is a constant, a familiar face that is always there to answer questions, reinforce patient education, ease anxiety and eliminate any barriers that might impede care. What's more, the patient navigator will communicate with the primary care physician, ensuring they receive up-to-date information about their patients' progress.

Specifically, the patient navigator seeks to:

  • Address your questions and concerns
  • Link you to resources regarding insurance and payment assistance
  • Refer you to transportation services, if needed
  • Direct you to further health care services
  • Identify helpful local resources and support services
  • Help you track appointments
  • Act as a resource for helpful health care information for you and your family

Karmanos Detroit and Farmington Hills Patient Navigators

Karmanos is offering oncology patient navigator services for each of its multidisciplinary cancer care teams. The navigator, who will follow you throughout your entire cancer journey at Karmanos, will work to learn more about your personal goals as you receive and complete treatment so that they can be shared with your medical team.

Patient navigators help connect patients with resources, including:

  • Scheduling
  • Financial and insurance
  • Billing issues
  • Transportation
  • Language/cultural
  • Coordinator of care
  • Personal care needs
  • Social work and supportive services

An oncology patient navigator will be assigned to you at your first appointment. These individuals are trained according to the multidisciplinary team that is caring for you. If you have questions about this service, please speak to a member of your Karmanos health care team.

Meet our Team

To request an Oncology Patient Navigator, you can call 1-800-KARMANOS (1-800-527-6266). You may also email OPN@karmanos.org. Please include your full name, telephone number and the name of your Karmanos physician/provider.

Karmanos Cancer Network Patient Navigators

McLaren Bay Region Oncology Nurse Navigator 

Kayla Jensen, BSN, RN
989-667-2389
kayla.jensen@mclaren.org

Kayla Jensen

McLaren Oakland, Clarkston Patient Navigator

Shannon Snow
238-922-6890
shannon.snow@mclaren.org

McLaren Flint Surgical Oncology Nurse Navigator 

Anna Glasstetter, RN, BSN
810-342-5687
anna.glasstetter@mclaren.org

Anna Glasstetter

McLaren Flint Oncology Nurse Navigator 

Carrie Haneckow, BSN, RN
810-342-4848
carrie.haneckow@mclaren.org

Carrie Haneckow BSN RN

McLaren Proton Therapy Center Patient Navigator

Nicole Cygnar R.T.
810-342-3875
nicole.cygnar@mclaren.org

Proton Therapy Patient Navigator Nicole Cygnar

McLaren Proton Therapy Center Research Navigator

Drita Nuculovic, RN
810-342-5674
drita.nuculovic@mclaren.org

McLaren Flint Breast Cancer Nurse Navigator 

Penny Wilkinson, RN
833-949-1108
penny.wilkinson@mclaren.org

McLaren Greater Lansing Breast Cancer Nurse Navigator

Sarah Barber, RN
Phone: 517-975-6432
sarah.barber1@mclaren.org 

breast health navigator Sarah Lersch

McLaren Greater Lansing GU and Head and Neck Oncology Nurse Navigator

Patrick Fox, RN, BSN
Phone: 517-975-7815
patrick.fox@mclaren.org 

McLaren Greater Lansing Oncology Nurse Navigator 

Katelin (Kaytee) Ivison, RN
Phone: 517-975-7808
katelin.ivison@mclaren.org 

McLaren Greater Lansing Thoracic Coordinator/Nurse Navigator

Becky Loomis, RN, BSN
517-975-8030
becky.loomis@mclaren.org

breast health navigator Becky Loomis

McLaren Macomb Lung Navigator 

Celeste Compeau, RN, BSN, OCN
586-493-7557
celeste.compeau@mclaren.org

McLaren Macomb Oncology Nurse Navigator

Kimberly (Kym) Dean, RN, BSN, OCN
586-493-3426
kimberly.dean@mclaren.org

Kym Dean

McLaren Northern Michigan Head & Neck & Lung Nurse Navigator 

Melissa Karr, RN
231-487-3205
melissa.karr@mclaren.org

Melissa Karr

McLaren Northern Michigan Breast Cancer Navigator

Melissa DeSimone, RN, MSN, OCN, CBCN
231-487-7274
melissa.desimone@mclaren.org

Melissa DeSimone

McLaren Port Huron Nurse Navigator

Julie Dickinson, RN, BSN, OCN
810-989-3788
jdickinson@porthuronhospital.org

Julie Dickinson, RN, BSN, OCN