Hospital awards 24 scholarships

Port Huron, MI – McLaren Port Huron and its health care partners have awarded $47,500 in scholarships to 24 students pursuing degrees in professions represented in the hospital and the community. Since 1988, 462 recipients have received $530,750 through the scholarship program.

Scholarships are funded by the McLaren Port Huron Auxiliary, McLaren Port Huron Employees That Care Club, McLaren Port Huron Foundation, McLaren Port Huron employees and Marwood Nursing &  Rehab.

The 2018 scholarship recipients are:

McLaren Port Huron Auxiliary Scholarships:  Georgia Aebel of Carsonville, Tammy Falleti of Ira, Ashley Fletcher of Fort Gratiot, Kelli Mollan of Yale, and Lindsey West of Burtchville.

McLaren Port Huron Auxiliary Seminar/Conference Scholarship:  Joshua Koehn of Port Huron.

McLaren Port Huron Employees That Care Scholarships:  Kelly Ringle of Capac and Corey Weaver of Marysville.

McLaren Port Huron Employee Scholarships:  Sharon Kortas of East China and Cassandra Markel-Demianenko of St. Clair.

Theron and Eleanor Godbold Scholarship: 
Amy Podgorski of Yale, April Schomaker of Wales, Jennifer VanTiem of Cottrellville Township, and Brenda Wright of Kimball.

Shirley Jardine Carter Memorial Scholarship for Physical Therapy:  Samantha Charney of Avoca, Ryan Davis of Wayland, Jenna Page of Port Huron, and Megan Weaver of Marysville.

Karen Susan Draper Memorial Scholarship:  Marwood Nursing & Rehab employees receiving the scholarships are Sabrina Bahnweg of Marysville, Michelle Cowan of Port Huron, Shawna Jakush of Port Huron, Emily Kellet-Dazer of Port Huron, Lauren Leggett of Memphis, and Julie Markey of Marysville.

To learn more about scholarship opportunities at McLaren Port Huron, visit