McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation
About Us

About McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation

Who We Are

The McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation is a supporting organization of McLaren Northern Michigan. Both are 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations committed to providing quality health care in northern Michigan.

Our Mission:

To receive and administer funds to support the mission of McLaren Northern Michigan and support programs that enhance the well-being of the community.

Our Promise:

You will have unwavering confidence that your gift will be optimized to provide superior patient care and knowledge that your generosity will impact you, your family, and your community for generations to come.

McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation Board Members

Dear Friends

The McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation is governed by volunteer Trustees who call northern Michigan “home.” We are committed to ensuring that the funds raised by the Foundation further the McLaren Northern Michigan guiding principle: To provide healthcare as we expect for our own family.

Serving as Foundation Trustees, we have the privilege of seeing first-hand the incredible impact donor support makes on patients and their loved ones. The significance of each gift goes beyond a simple dollar value - it improves the lives of your neighbors, friends and family by ensuring that the care they need is available when they need it most.

We look forward to getting to know you and to matching your philanthropic investment with our funding priorities to ensure that McLaren Northern Michigan is here for you, your loved ones and our community.

Elise Hayes


Elise Fisher, Chair

Board of Trustees

  • Elise Fisher, Chair
    Robert (Ham) Schirmer, Vice Chair
    Courtney Font, Treasurer
    Miriam Hollar, Secretary
    Kal A. Attie, MD
    Todd Burch, President & CEO
    Robbie Buhl
    Katie Coleman
    Steven C. Cross
    Matthew J. Frentz, CPA
  • Arthur G. Hailand, III
    Matthew Krieger
    Patrick Leavy
    Kathie Nihls
    James Riehl, III
    Rogan L. Saal
    James Schroeder, PhD
    Tracy Souder, M.A. CCC-SLP
    Julie Jarema, Vice President, Chief Philanthropy Officer
  • Advisory Council

  • Patricia Anton
    Cindy Baiardi
    Ermy Bonfield
    J. Steven Brown
    Murray A. Cotter, MD, PhD
    David Crouse
    Gay C. Cummings
    Stephen H. Eibling
    Richard Hirrel
    William Hofmann
    Ann Irish
    Marilyn Kay Kapp
    William Meengs, MD
  • William Meengs, Jr.
    Philip Millard
    Thomas Moran
    Deborah K. Nachtrab
    Julia M. Norcross
    James S. Offield
    Michael Pettibone
    Borge Reimer
    Philip T. Smith
    Darcie Sharapova, MD
    Susanna Souder
    Ann Stallkamp
    Pamela L. Wyett
  • Our Leadership

    Dear Friends,

    When you support the McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation, you make an immediate impact on the care you receive in your community.

    Whether you respond to an appeal, attend a fundraising event or include the Foundation in your estate plans, every dollar you give to the McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation stays right here in northern Michigan. You can designate your donation to fund the area of greatest need throughout the hospital, a hospice program, equipment or emerging technology, a program critical to a patient’s recovery, the continuing education of those who care for patients or your own special area of interest based on your individual experiences or passions.

    We invite you to contact one of our dedicated staff members to help you select the gift-giving strategy that best meets your needs and philanthropic goals.


    Julie Jarema, Chief Development Officer
    Phone: 231.487.4811
    Fax: 231.487.7798

    Julie Jarema

    McLaren Northern Michigan Foundation Staff

    Izabela Babinska
    Izabela Babinska
    Foundation Relations Officer

    Phone: (231) 487-3442

    Dawn Behling
    Dawn Behling
    Nurse Liaison

    Phone: (231) 487-3488

    Denise Dundon
    Denise Dundon
    Foundation Relations Officer

    Phone: (231) 487-7285

    Tami Frampus
    Tami Frampus
    Nurse Liaison

    Phone: (231) 487-7128

    Loral Kenewell
    Loral Kenewell
    Philanthropy Officer, Annual Giving

    Phone: (231) 487-3136

    Lindsay Steffes
    Lindsay Steffes
    Philanthropy Officer

    Phone: (231) 487-5020

    Carla Sossi
    Carla Sossi
    Philanthropy Officer

    Phone: (231) 487-7202